Our Leadership


Camp Director, Moshava Alevy, Avi Matanky started his relationship with Bnei Akiva of Los Angeles when he served as Rosh Moshava at our successful and popular Moshava Malibu a few years ago. But Avi has actually spent his entire life in Moshava. Having begun his Moshava career at the tender age of one month, while his parents were on staff at Moshava Wild Rose, Avi continued on as a camper, staff member, and senior staff member at Moshava Wild Rose. For the last three summers, Avi has served on the senior staff at Moshava IO and in 2014 as Rosh Moshava of Moshava Malibu. As a result, Avi brings a wealth of experience, energy, and talent to his new role as Camp Director of Moshava California.

Avi’s post-graduate work experience also prepares him well for joining our team. Since graduating with a degree in Business Management from Yeshiva University, Avi has served as the Mazkir Artzi – National Programs Director – of Bnei Akiva of the US and Canada.

Avi Matanky has relocated to Los Angeles this summer, so he can begin his transition into this new role at Moshava California and to begin planning Summer 2018. He looks forward to meeting Moshava campers, staff, and families and at the same time learning all of the ins and outs of Moshava California’s operations. Avi will assume responsibility for day to day camp operations immediately after the end of this summer’s final session

Valley Shlichim Eli and Shani Skaist together with their children join us from Jerusalem.

City Shlichim – COMING SOON 

Administrator Avigayil Metal grew up in Queens, NY where she attended SNIF on Shabbat afternoon for many years. Avigayil was involved with arts- and youth- focused nonprofit organizations before moving to Los Angeles in 2002, where she worked for several years as a theatrical milliner in the entertainment industry and in event production. She lives in the Pico area with her husband Brian, and their children Rose and Wolf. Avigayil is delighted to be back in the Bnei Akiva world.


Board of Directors:

Ruth Berkowitz – President

Steven Berger

Jamie Frankel

Victor Hadad

Michael Loboda

Zev Nagel

Alissa Rimmon

Mark Rosenbaum